Board of Directors

Free Clinics of Iowa's OFFICERS

James Blessman, MD

FCI Founder & Board Member Emeritus

Blessman International

Stephen Eckstat, DO

FCI Board President &

Medical Director

Emergency Room Physician & Health Care Consultant

Tim Gutshall, MD

FCI Vice-President

Vice President, Chief Medical Officer

Wellmark Blue Cross Blue Shield

Kenneth Butters, JD

FCI Secretary

Attorney at Law

Brick, Gentry, Bowers, Shwartz, Stoltze & Levis, PC

Karl Vilums

FCI Treasurer

Chief Financial Officer

Broadlawns Medical Center

Wendy Gray, MS

FCI Executive Director

Jeff Dumermuth

FCI Member Services Coordinator

Free Clinics of Iowa's MEMBERS

Richard L. Deming, MD

Medical Director

Mercy Cancer Center

David Drake, DO

Des Moines Psychiatrist

Pamela A. Duffy, PT, PhD, OCS, RP-R, FAPTA

Associate Professor & Vice Chair, MPH Program

Des Moines University

Jill Feilmeier

Corporate Communications Director

Delta Dental of Iowa

Jack Hatch


Hatch Development

James Hayes

Executive Director

Des Moines Pastoral Counseling Center 

James Hobson

National Director

Christ-Life Ministries

Bob Russell, DDS, MPH

Chief, Oral & Health Delivery Systems

Iowa Department of Public Health

Larry Severidt, MD

Director of Medical Education & Family Medicine Residency Program

Broadlawns Medical Center

Tess Young, JD

Young Consulting Inc

Free Clinics of Iowa (FCI) is a volunteer healthcare network.  Through the efforts of more than 1,600 volunteers, FCI serves Iowa’s most vulnerable, un/under-insured with basic, primary care services. In rural and urban settings, FCI clinics provide basic health care services through volunteer physicians, nurses and other health professionals, at no cost to patients.


Free Clinics of Iowa is a registered as a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. 


Contributions are tax-deductible to the extent permitted by law, tax identification number 42-1428706.

© 2020 Free Clinics of Iowa

  • Free Clinics of Iowa Facebook Icon